Canadians who are dual citizens of countries affected by Trump immigration order can go to US

January 31, 2017

By Global News |

Canadians who are dual citizens of Iraq, Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Libya and Yemen will be allowed to enter the United States, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s office clarified on Saturday.

An email from Prime Minister Justin Trudeau‘s office late Saturday said that the U.S. has given assurances that Canadians with dual citizenship will not be turned away at the border.

Earlier, the U.S. State Department told Global News that dual citizens who hold Canadian passports as well as a passport from any of those countries would be covered by the executive order issued by U.S. President Donald Trump Friday

“Travelers who have nationality or dual nationality of one of these countries will not be permitted for 90 days to enter the United States or be issued an immigrant or nonimmigrant visa,” a U.S. State Department official said in an emailed statement earlier on Saturday.

“This Executive Order should not affect dual-nationality Americans at all.”

WestJet Airlines said it turned back a passenger bound for the United States Saturday in order to comply with the executive order.

WestJet spokeswoman Lauren Stewart said the airline would give full refunds to anyone affected by the U.S. executive order. It did not say which country the passenger had come from.

Stewart said WestJet had been informed by U.S. Customs and Border Patrol (CBP) that the ban did not apply to dual citizens who had passports from countries other than those covered by the ban: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

Read more